Skip to main content

Scientific Committee 2018-2020


Scientific Committee 2018-2020



Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Hecker is full Professor at the Technische Universität Braunschweig (TU‐BS) and Director of TU‐BS’s Institute of Flight Guidance since 2005.


Prof. h.c. Dr.-Ing. Dieter SCHMITT, ARTS - Aeronautical Research & Technology Services. The Academic background consists of 7 years as researcher at the TH Darmstadt (1968 – 1975), up to PhD degree; then 7 years as professor (Ordinarius) at the TU Munich (1996 – 2002).


Dr David DUNFORD is CEng, PhD (Imperial), Fellow Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS), Fellow Institute of Material, Mineral and Mining (IOM3), with 40 years+ experience in the aeronautical sector, aligned to research, technology development and application, primarily in aerospace materials, surface engineering, manufacturing technologies and technology demonstration, covering both airframe and aero-engines.


Prof. Janusz NARKIEWICZ, PhD, DSc is Head of the Department of Automation and Aeronautical Systems, Warsaw University of Technology, Warsaw, PL. During his career he worked in Institute of Aviation, PL and at City University, London UK.


Dr Trevor M. YOUNG is an Associate Professor in aeronautical engineering at the University of Limerick (UL), Ireland since 1993. 


Prof. Francesca SANNA-RANDACCIO is Full Professor of Economics at the Department of Computer, Control and Management Engineering “Antonio Ruberti” at La SAPIENZA University of Rome. She will retire in 2018.


Christian MARI retired from Safran in 2015; his last position was Chairman & CEO of Joint Venture Martin-Baker /SAFRAN Group) 2010-2015. Among the previous positions he was Senior Vice-President of SAFRAN Group R&T Corporate Research & Technology Directorate 2002-2004


Paulo M. S. TAVARES DE CASTRO is currently a full professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Faculty of Engineering of the University of Porto (FEUP).


Patrik Fernberg Associate Professor, Polymeric Composite Materials, Luleå University of Technology (LTU), Since 2015 -Head of Research, Swerea SICOMP AB since 2013 Adjunct Associate Lector, LTU.


Wim PASTEUNING retired in 2015 after 41-yearcareer at Fokker where he has always been involved in development and technology.


Detailed list of members of the SciCom